Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

Stay the Course July 29, 2010

Hello Lovelies!

I hope you’re having a nice relaxing evening. It’s been so hot here lately that I don’t want to leave the house until the sun goes down. Maybe I could get my store to open at 7 at night instead of 7 in the morning?

Today I want to share a blog post I just read over at Health for the Whole Self. The post is about using intuitive eating, or listening to your body, as a means of promoting a healthy lifestyle.

I love the idea of actually listening to my body about the food it wants, and when it wants to eat.

But I don’t trust myself.

How do I know that my body won’t be asking for cookies and ice cream 24/7? How do I know that my body wants me to get 5 servings of fruits and vegetables a day?

I think that’s part of the challenge of intuitive eating. You need to figure out what “craving” is actually what your body wants and what part of it is emotion.

For me, I’m a huge emotional eater. I came from a family that used food as a means of comfort, celebration, commiseration, and any emotion in between. You had a rough day? Let’s make cookies. You got an “A” on your test? We need cake to celebrate. Junk food was never in short supply when I was growing up.

And I realize that even now I still fall back on using food as a crutch. Otherwise why would I be on a first name basis with the Coldstone clerk? But I’m not ready to leave Weight Watchers and begin intuitive eating. Not yet.

I think of Weight Watchers as my training wheels. I’m learning what foods I need to fuel my body, and what I need to stay healthy. I’m learning moderation, and the Points system is teaching me that I can get, and stay, full on less food than I thought.

So where does this leave me?

I’m going to stay the course, and continue making progress on Weight Watchers. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t incorporate some of the techniques that Christine references in her guest post on Health for the Whole Self. I can start to examine my relationship with food, and why I turn to it in times of stress.

You can expect plenty of other posts on this topic in the future as I continue to look how food and my emotions go hand in hand.

This tired girl is going to hit the hay. Have a good night Blogland.

Question for you:

Are you an emotional eater? How do you cope?

 

Leave a Reply

