Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

Race Recap July 31, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Race,Running — Cyndi @ 8:26 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hi Everyone!

I hope your weekend is off to a nice start. I usually don’t have weekends off, but I lucked out this time around. You won’t hear any complaints from me about that one.

So this morning Kena and I woke up at 5:45 to get ready for our race. We had to drive about 45 minutes to get to Westport, and we wanted to make sure we were able to register and stretch before the race started.

I have to say as soon as I woke up this morning I was a little nervous about how I was going to do. The dog slept in my room last night, since Kena was bunking on the couch, and I swear she woke me up every 15 minutes. It was nuts. Needless to say I woke up feeling a little stiff, and not very well rested.

We got to the Longshore Club Park about a half hour before starting time, which is what we were hoping for. I’d rather have extra time before the race starts than feel rushed to get to the starting line. It was actually kind of chilly down by the water, but the sun was shining, and overall it was a great day for a race. I couldn’t wait to start running so I could warm up.

As we registered and started stretching Kena and I started looking at the people joining us. We were surrounded by hardcore runners. Every single person there looked like they had raced before. I felt a little out of my element, but I tried not to let it get to me. Nobody there knew that I didn’t have as much experience as they did.

Do you ever get pre-race jitters? How do you handle them?

Once I started running I stopped worrying about the people around me, and just focused on myself. The Westport Road Runners, who put on the race, have a no headphones rule so I ran my first wireless race. It was definitely different, and it’s nice to get back to basics sometimes.

I saw Kena running in front of me for maybe the first half mile and then I didn’t see her again until the end. I told you she was fast.

Here are my stats:

Warning: If you’re looking for Speedy Gonzalez that’s not me. I’m focusing on distance rather than speed at this point. And heck I’m just grateful that I can run at all.

Total Distance: 4.62 miles (I was disappointed that it was less than the website said it was.)

Total Time: 48:08

Average Pace: 10:33

Mile 1: 10:37

Mile 2: 10:17

Mile 3: 10:58

Mile 4: 10:28

Mile 4-4.62: 6:50

I came in 127 out of 150. Kena rocked it at 42:13, and came in at 110.

Overall, I accomplished both of my goals, I finished, and I didn’t finish last. But I still think I could have done better. I know I have it in me to run faster than I did today. I think a part of it was that I was nervous because it was my longest race to date. I didn’t want to burn myself out too quickly, but I never really pushed myself either.

When we finished the race I let my husband know how we did and he responded, “did you get any free stuff?”

And when I couldn’t think of anything to say Kena replied, “we got free experiences.”

Which isn’t entirely true since we had to pay the entry fee, but it definitely was an experience.

Stay tuned for our next race on August 15th. I promise to have a camera by then so I can actually get some pictures of the course.

Here’s your reward for reading a post without any pictures:

This is the Bear I’m always talking about.

I’m off to pick the husband up from the airport. (I’m so excited it is not even funny.)

Until next time Blogland!

 

Leave a Reply

