Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

Check the Map August 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Cyndi @ 9:46 pm

Hello Everyone!

I hope today treated you well.

I woke up nice and early this morning with my game face on.

I’ve been following Hal Higdon’s Novice Half-Marathon training program. Tuesdays are my long run day, and I woke up ready to tackle my 7 mile run.

I put on the new running shirt that I got at Dick’s the other day.

It says “vicious, ambitious, and a little bit malicious.” The first time I saw it I knew I had to have it, and when that $10 off coupon came in the mail I knew victory was mine.

I finished the 7 miles in 1:26. I was pretty satisfied with that time, especially since I had to take a couple of walk breaks.

Before I left the house the husband asked if I had a route planned out.

I cockily told him I was going to wing it.

That’s how I ended up walking another 2.5 miles home after I reached my 7 miles. The husband didn’t even rub it in my face when I finally made it home nearly 3 hours after I left.

Planning out my route would have prevented me from having that long, lonely walk home, and it would have shown me that the roads I was going to choose were particularly hilly. I will definitely be mapping out my 8 mile run for next Tuesday.

Oh well. You live and you learn, right? At least now I have a really nice 9.50 mile route that’s there when I need it.

The run went well, and I experimented with eating a protein bar around half-way through. I didn’t notice a change in my energy level after, so I think I’m just going to fill my water bottle with half water/ half Gatorade next time. I found pulling the plastic bag out of my pocket to be cumbersome, and the bar made me pretty thirsty. How do you fuel during exercise?

Tuesdays are also my weigh-in day at Weight Watchers. I’m down .6 this week, for a total of 55.8 pounds. I’m pretty happy with that loss. I’m only 9 pounds from my goal weight, so I know the pounds are going to start coming off slower. I’m okay with that, and I figure at this point if the weight wants to come off it’s going to. I’m in no rush, I’m in the best shape of my life.

In a couple of weeks when Grad school starts my schedule is going to be turned upside down. Between being an intern for 40 hours a week, classes at night, and working on the nights I don’t have classes I’m not sure where to fit exercise in. Any tips on how to make exercising a priority? How do you balance a crazy life and a healthy lifestyle?

The husband and I treated ourselves to Dairy Queen tonight. You know what they say, everything in moderation. Besides, you’ve got to take advantage of these warm summer nights while you have the chance.

Have a good night Blogland!

Question for you:

What helps keep you from going nuts when your schedule gets out of your control?

 

2 Responses to “Check the Map”

  1. Congrats on a great run!
    I try to make the most of the mornings when I am busy. That way, no matter how crazy my day gets , I have already done my workout!!!


Leave a Reply

