Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

The Importance of Being Rested August 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Cyndi @ 9:30 pm

Well hello everybody!

Fun fact about me: On Wednesdays I need to be up at 4:30 am to go to work. I usually start out my shift pretty gung-ho about getting out of work and fitting in some form of exercise. But by the time 2 o’clock rolls around I’m beat, and all I can think of is going home and curling up on the couch with the Bear.

So that’s what I did today. I figured I just completed my long run yesterday, and it’s perfectly acceptable for me to take a rest day. Rest days ensure that I don’t burn myself out. Don’t get me wrong I love running, but if I did it 7 days a week I would get sick of it. Not only that, but I would increase my risk of injury. I’m not a stranger to pain, but I like to avoid it if I can.

You should always listen to your  body. I know myself well enough to know that if I force myself to exercise when I’m not really feeling it, I’ll just get upset. And I know that if I’m not enjoying exercise I’m much less likely to do it.

I want to like exercise. I want to look forward to it. And the way I do that is by giving myself rest days. Do you take rest days? How many a week?

Dinner tonight included the Fruits of Our Labor.

We took our vine-ripened tomatoes and made a delicious marinara sauce.

I loosely followed this recipe for Ina Garten’s Marinara Sauce

Marinara Sauce

1 tablespoon good olive oil

1 small onion

1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic

3 medium chopped tomatoes

2 tbsp tomato paste

fresh herb mix (It was labeled pasta in the produce department so I went for it.)

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

I didn’t worry too much about measuring things out. I tend to wing it, unless I’m baking.

I started by heating the oil in the pan, then sweating out the onions and garlic.

After that I added the tomatoes, tomato paste, herbs, and salt and pepper.

I let it all simmer for about 20 minutes, until it started to thicken up.

We served it over whole wheat spaghetti, with the most amazing homemade garlic bread

Garlic Bread

adapted from: Pink Parsley

1 loaf french bread

1/4 cup Brummel and Brown

1/4 cup olive oil

6 cloves garlic, pressed

A big bunch of whatever herbs you have. I used some of the leftovers from the “pasta pack” and of course a generous heaping of rosemary.

Combine the Brummel and Brown, olive oil, garlic, and herbs in a food processor and give it a whirl.

Cut the bread lengthwise and spread the mixture evenly over both sides. Close the bread and wrap it in tinfoil.

Bake at 350 for 5 minutes, then open the bread and cook for another 5 minutes.

So delicious! I don’t think we’re going to go back to pre-made garlic bread. And as soon as I have the time to make bread I think this will be amazing. I think the next time we make it though we’re going to cut back to 4 cloves of garlic. There is some serious garlic breath going on over here tonight.

On that lovely note, I’m going to get some work done before heading to bed.

Goodnight Blogland!

Question for you:

What is your favorite meal? Does it fit into your healthy lifestyle?

 

2 Responses to “The Importance of Being Rested”

  1. My fav meal would have to be pizza – which I make healthier by making the base myself and topping it with loads of fresh veggies….YUMMO!

  2. Cyndi Says:

    I really like pizza too. I always say I am going to make my own, but somehow end up with a frozen pizza in the oven. I’ll have to get my lazy behind in gear and actually make my own.


Leave a Reply

