Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

Bookworm August 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Cyndi @ 2:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Howdy Partner! (Look, now I’m in a Western!)

I’m blogging from my sister’s kitchen table. I have to pick up the husbands family at the airport this afternoon, so I figured I’d come spend some quality time with the family. I’m taking the opportunity to blog while the munchkin is down for a nap. I feel like I don’t get up here enough, but I try to visit as often as possible. Do you live near your family?

In super awesome news: I just registered my cousin Kena, and me for the West Rock Challenge. It’s a 5k trail race. The website describes it as “flat to rolling hills on both single and double track.  Both events are off road with very little pavement.” (source) You have the option of doing a 9 mile race as well, but neither of us is ready for that. There’s always next year!

I’m very excited because I enjoy trail running, but never really get a chance to do it. Have you ever done a trail run?

I woke up semi-early this morning (what? I don’t have to work today) and stuffed my face with peanut butter toast. It must have been that post last night, but I definitely had a craving, and who am I to deny a craving? Then I did a nice 45 minute bike ride. I didn’t push myself too hard, since I have my long run tomorrow morning. I want my legs to be nice and fresh. Do you workout the day before a long run?

We went out for a sushi lunch. Since I roll as a vegetarian now, I had miso soup, a cucumber roll, and an avocado roll. Sushi might be the one thing I miss as a vegetarian.

As the title suggests, I’m kind of a bookworm. I didn’t get a Bachelor of Arts in English for posterity. Here are some of my recent reads that I think you might enjoy:

Eating Animals by Jonathon Safran Foer

The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser (this is in the wings, I haven’t actually read it yet, but it comes highly recommended.)

I’ve been hooked on reading books about the food industry lately. Since I started out on this journey to become healthier I’ve gotten really curious about where my food comes from. I do have to tell you though, once you learn what’s in these books you can’t unlearn it. Reading Eating Animals is part of the reason I decided to become vegetarian.

Cookbooks:

The New Vegetarian Grill by Andrea Chesman

The recipes in this cookbook are so delicious. You should definitely check out the sweet potato quesadillas with black bean salsa. I intend to blog this recipe in the future as well.

That’s all I have for a book list right now, but I’m constantly reading so you can expect to see more of these posts in the future.

I’m off to pick up the in-laws, see you tomorrow with a long run recap, and a weigh-in post.

Peace out, Blogland!

Questions for you:

What books are you reading right now? Would you recommend it?

 

2 Responses to “Bookworm”

  1. I am reading ‘Eating Animals’ too right now! It is an eye-opening read that is for sure!!!

    • Cyndi Says:

      It definitely is eye-opening. I think it’s important for people to know where their food is coming from, and the book is very honest about it.


Leave a Reply

