Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

The Long Run That Wasn’t August 10, 2010

Filed under: Weight Watchers — Cyndi @ 9:44 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hey Guys!

I hope your day treated you better than mine treated me. Have you ever had one of those days where things just don’t go your way? That was my day.

I got up early this morning in the hopes of doing my long run only to see dark rain clouds. I’m not afraid of rain, but I can’t run with my music in the rain or GPS, so I waited for the clouds to clear. Once the clouds cleared I went to put my contacts in (I hate running in glasses!) and found that as soon as the contact touched my eye I felt this immense pain.

I’m calling first thing tomorrow, since the eye doctor is closed today, to figure out what the problem is. I even opened a new pair of contacts, and waited several hours before trying again, but no such luck. And in both eyes too! My husband says it could be a scratch or something. I hope it’s nothing serious. Wish me luck.

Then after many frustrated attempts at putting my contacts in I headed to the DMV to stand in line for 2 hours. It’s sad that it takes 2 hours to get to the counter for a 5 minute transaction. But at least all of the employees were really nice, that made the wait slightly less awful. Do you dread the DMV?

After the DMV I had lunch with Lauren, so my day wasn’t all bad things. We ate this delicious frittata that I made with zucchini, green pepper, and jalapeño from the garden. (Look for the blog tomorrow.)

Then I went to my Weight Watchers meeting. Honestly, I gained this week. I can’t say that I’m surprised by the fact that I gained. I know that I ate a lot of food last week, and some of those foods were not very healthy. I just need to recognize that one bad choice doesn’t have to lead to another.

Coincidentally, the topic for this week happened to be dealing with seeing a higher number on the scale. Robin, the meeting leader, had some really encouraging things to say today. She reminded me that just because I gained some this week, that doesn’t mean that it negates all of the hard work I’ve done over the past year.

You can’t always judge your success by the number on the scale. I’ve watched myself become so much healthier. I’ve found that I can be athletic, that I can race. I’ve learned that there is nothing that I cannot do, if I put my mind to it.

And as I sat in that meeting room I realized that I’m not upset about my gain this week. I’m not perfect. My weight will fluctuate for the rest of my life, but that’s okay.

I am not defined by the number on the scale.

I can’t tell you how good it feels to write that.

I guess today hasn’t been so bad after all.

Hopefully, the doctor can help me figure out my eye problem, and I’ll be back on the asphalt in no time. I’m going to fit in my long run, even if I need to have my husband ride alongside me on his bike to show me the way. I’m determined.

I want to share this fortune that my sister got at the sushi place yesterday:

These fortunes are getting pretty sneaky.

Goodnight, Blogland!

Questions for you:

How do you cope with a bad day?

Do you tend to focus on the number on the scale? I just want you to know that you’re beautiful no matter what the scale says, and I bet you have a million amazing qualities that make up who you are, and none of those reflect on the scale.

 

4 Responses to “The Long Run That Wasn’t”

  1. Kelberto Says:

    When I don’t work out one day I always notice the scale go up the next. I know it’s not weight gain in terms of fat – mostly water weight that I didn’t sweat out.

    I always tell myself not to let it get to me, that tomorrow another day and that it’ll be back down after I work out. But I always keep going back to all of the negative thoughts – I gained a pound, people will notice, now I have to work out extra. And you know what, tomorrow I could be up more or down more. It’s a vicious cycle…

    This just happened to me today – I had one of those days yesterday where I just didn’t have the physical strength to go work out and today I was up a pound. I didn’t over eat yesterday and I know it’s water retention, most likely from PMS (being honest) and the salt in my dinner (stupid boxed deliciousness). But I’ve been mentally freaking out all morning.

    I am glad to hear I’m not the only one that freaks out at the scale. I know we’re not supposed to monitor it daily, as weight does fluctuate every day. Your post reminded me that it is just a number and that I need to focus on my appearance, wellness, and over all being.

    There are always those bad days and you can’t let it demotivate you or even let it drag you down. I just use it a even more motivation to get back into the swing of it.

    Thanks!

    • Cyndi Says:

      I definitely understand how you feel. It’s so hard to see the number go up, after all the hard work.
      I would challenge you to stop weighing yourself so often. Cut back by half and see where it gets you. I know I feel so much better knowing I only have to get on the scale once a week.
      Also, you look amazing, and nobody notices an extra pound here or there. And if they do they aren’t the kind of company you want to keep anyway.

  2. Oh no – sorry to hear about your contacts. Hope it is nothing too serious 😦
    My way of coping with a bad day is hanging out with my hubby – or hitting the gym / yoga mat!

    • Cyndi Says:

      Spending time with my husband, and the dog, always makes me feel better. But there is nothing like a nice sweat session to ease the stress.


Leave a Reply

