Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

Egg-cellent Choice August 11, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Cyndi @ 9:10 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Well hello there, lovely readers!

Today was another crazy day in Cyndi-land. After working 12 hours my legs felt like crud and I didn’t have the heart to make them bust out a 7 mile run. But it’s coming tomorrow hell or high water.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m a little burnt out. How can you tell if you’re burnt out from training? How do you recover?

The eye doctor couldn’t tell me what was wrong with my eyes, although he was able to rule out that it isn’t the actual eye itself that has the problem. He advised me to throw out my old contacts, the cases, and the solution and attempt to start fresh with a new pair.

I’m going to give that a shot tomorrow (fingers crossed) and I have a follow-up appointment Saturday morning where he’ll put a fresh pair in, that they’re getting delivered to the office, to make sure it’s not my batch of contacts. I’m relieved that he’s willing to listen to me.

Sometimes I worry that my doctor’s won’t listen to my concerns. Do you ever worry about that?

Anyway, onto what you really came here for:

Summer-Fresh Frittata

1 medium zucchini, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

1/4 cup baby portabella mushrooms, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1 small jalapeño, chopped

4 eggs

4 egg whites

splash skim milk

2 tbsp grated romano

Salt and pepper to taste

1/8 cup crumbled feta for sprinkling on top

Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat, and spray with cooking spray.

Place all the vegetables in the pan, and cook until golden and delicious looking.

While the veggies cook, crack the eggs, and egg whites into a bowl, add the milk and whisk.

Once the yolks are broken up, add the romano, salt and pepper, and give another quick whisk.

When the veggies are softened add the egg mixture.

Stir with a rubber spatula, and cook until set. Approximately 5 minutes.

In a 400 degree oven bake until fully cooked, approximately 5 minutes.

Then sprinkle the feta on top of the frittata, and broil for a couple of minutes until the top is golden brown.

Cut into 8 wedges and enjoy!

Makes 4, 2 wedge servings.

Points Value 3

This was so delicious! I loved that it came together so simply, but tasted so fresh and light.

The feta added a nice saltiness, and broiling it gave it a little crunch.

I can see myself making this over and over again. Feel free to use whatever veggie is in season, I think asparagus would be amazing in this dish, especially if you roasted the asparagus first. Oh man, I have so many egg-based dish ideas right now.

I promise to share.

Best of all, I get to have the leftovers for breakfast.

In other food related news, I have an amazing idea for a dinner. Hopefully it will come to fruition tomorrow. Stay tuned for that. It could either be a success or a failure. Only time will tell. (Cooking is kind of like a soap opera, huh?)

Here’s a hint: it involves zoodles.

Alright friends, it’s time for me to make some dinner, and maybe do some yoga.

Sleep tight, Blogland!

Question for you:

What are your favorite vegetables to put into egg dishes?

 

Leave a Reply

