Journey to a Healthier Me

Living life and getting healthy one step at a time.

Feeling Lucky August 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Cyndi @ 9:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hey Guys!

(source)

I hope this Friday the 13th is treating you well. Growing up my Dad always told me that Friday the 13th was lucky for him, and I guess because of that I’ve never bought into the superstition. And actually Friday the 13th usually ends up being a pretty good day for me. Or at least it has the past couple of occurrences.

That being said, I had a pretty good day today. I worked, and then came home to clean-up because we had some awesome company coming.

I got to go out to dinner with the husband’s family. (Hi Becca and Susan!)

I took today as a rest day. My legs were feeling pretty sore from my run, and I have a hard time getting enthusiastic about exercise when I’ve been up since 4:30 in the morning. Do you have a hard time exercising if you need to be up early?

You should always listen to your body about when you need a break. I know that if I push myself to exercise too hard when I’m already sore, it is only going to make me grumpy, and open me up to injury. I can’t afford an injury 2 months out from my 1/2 marathon. Well, who can afford an injury ever?

When the husband sprained his ankle last November the hospital bills were nearly $12,000! Thank goodness for health insurance.

Can we be honest with each other right now, reader?

I’ve been feeling pretty overwhelmed lately. Between working a full-time job, running about 20 miles (and counting) a week, cross training, arranging everything for graduate school, and keeping the house clean, dog fed, and husband happy, I’m exhausted.

I feel like I never have any time for myself.

Don’t get me wrong, when I exercise that is time that I’m spending on myself, but sometimes exercise feels more like a chore than a fun activity. Do you ever feel this way?

I find myself worrying a lot about what my life will be like once grad school actually starts. I have no idea how I’ll be able to fit my internship, classes, homework, work, exercise, and quality time with the husband into my life. It’s a scary prospect. I feel like I’m losing control of a situation that I am not even actually dealing with yet.

How do you cope with hectic times in your life?

I’m trying to tell myself not to worry about these things now. I really need to not go borrowing stress and just take things as they come. But it’s in my nature to worry.

I think I need to make a schedule of some sort, so that I’ll be able to look at it and know where I’m going and what’s expected of me.

But I’m worried about being able to live a healthy lifestyle and keep up with a hectic work/school schedule.

So I’m asking you, dear readers, for help.

What are your best tips/tricks for dealing with stress?

 

Leave a Reply

